2017 Fairfield PTAC Awards – Call For Nominations

It’s officially spring and that means the Fairfield PTA Council Awards season has begun! Each year, PTA Council recognizes outstanding volunteers and educators with several prestigious awards; recipients will be honored in a town-wide ceremony on Thursday, June 8, at Tomlinson Middle School at 7 pm.

Know an unsung hero, a hardworking volunteer who should be recognized for their contributions to the Fairfield Public Schools? Perhaps you are – or you know – a teacher currently enrolled in a graduate program in educational administration? Applications/nominations are now available for the following awards and are due Monday, May 22.

  • The Alis B. McGrath Friend of Education Award is given to a person who is committed to excellence in our public schools and who has demonstrated clear leadership throughout their active involvement – not just in education – but in the Fairfield community at large.
  • The Deanna O. Kiernan Award is given in memory of a beloved past PTA Council president who worked tirelessly to promote public education, the PTA and its mission.
  • And a new award introduced just last year – the Tricia Ford Money Award – given in memory of an individual who demonstrated an exemplary passion and commitment to a single program or initiative that positively impacts Fairfield children and the community at large.
  • The 2017 Brian Fagan grant awards, which recognize and reward outstanding teachers in the Fairfield public schools who demonstrate leadership and are currently enrolled in a graduate program in educational administration. Award recipients receive a monetary grant to defray the cost of their educational expenses that is underwritten by and named after Brian Fagan, a former Fairfield teacher, principal and assistant superintendent. Candidates must submit an application, a short essay and a letter of recommendation from a current Fairfield Public School Administrator.

Applications, nominations and additional information can be found here. Questions? Contact Julie Gottlieb, PTAC Awards Chair at segjkg@att.net.


This entry was posted in Announcements.

Comments are closed.